We have a thriving Junior section with over 100 children of all ages. While we focus on the skill and technical development of every child, we try to base most of the learning in fun and enjoyment, without the pressures that sport can cause. Our main aim is for children to enjoy tennis into adulthood.

Junior membership  |  Regular coaching  |  Coaching block dates  |  Easter and summer holiday courses  |  Competitions

line

Junior membership

The Parent and Junior memberships year runs from 1st September to 31st August. Coaching is not included in membership and any coaching fees are payable to head coach Kerris Weatherley during the first TWO weeks of each coaching term.

Please note that junior members under 14 are not permitted to play at the club unsupervised as in the event of an accident the child would not be covered by the Club’s insurance.

To apply for Parent,  Full Junior or Junior membership, please contact the Junior Membership Secretary.

Regular junior coaching

Junior coaching takes place throughout the week, based on age range and stage of skill development. Juniors are coached using the LTA’s Mini tennis framework, before progressing on to full (Yellow ball) game coaching.

Junior Coaching Programme – 2019

 

Day Group Time slot
Monday Mini green/yellow ball (select)
Ages 10 – 12 years
4.00 – 5.00 pm
Monday Yellow ball advanced
Ages 12 – 16 years
5.30 – 6.30 pm
Tuesday Mini orange ‘Marvels’
Ages 7 – 9 years
4.00 – 5.00 pm
Tuesday Mini orange ‘Super Marvels’
Ages 7 – 9 years
5.00 – 6.00 pm
Wednesday Mini red ‘Munchkins’ Drop-in
Ages 4 – 7 years
4.00 – 4.45 pm
Wednesday Yellow ball social
Ages 12 – 16 years
5.00 – 6.00 pm
Thursday Mini green/yellow ball (girls)
Ages 7 – 11 years
4.00 – 5.00 pm
Thursday Yellow ball development
Ages 11 – 16 years
5.00 – 6.00 pm
Thursday Open mixed advanced
Ages 16 + years
6.00 – 7.00 pm
Saturday Mini red/orange Drop-in
Ages 3 – 8 years
9.45 – 10.30 am
Saturday Mini green/yellow ball Drop-in
Ages 9 – 14 years
10.30 – 11.30 am
Spring term dates: Monday 14th January – Friday 29th March

The term consists of 10 lessons (excluding half term) and will cost £40.00 which should be paid to Kerris Weatherley during the first TWO weeks of the term commencing.

Membership to Bristol Central Tennis Club (BCTC) was also due in September 2018 £20 (£40 for Full Juniors) and £30 for Parents. Cheque to Bristol Central Tennis Club or electronic transfer to: Co-Op Bank, a/c: 65608188, sort code 08-92-99. Child name as reference please and notify David Parkes (see below) of payment.

Summer term dates: Monday 29th April – Friday 12th July

10 weeks – £40.00.

Autumn term dates: Monday 9th September – Friday 6th December

12 weeks – £48.00.

For any further enquiries, booking and other coaching information, please call me on: 07917 855357 or e-mail kerris.weatherley@btinternet.com.

For Full Junior, Junior or Parent BCTC membership payments and enquiries, contact David Parkes on 07443 512862 or email: davidparkes@hotmail.co.uk.

February Half Term, Easter and Summer Courses

In addition to the weekly coaching programme, children’s tennis courses (for all ages and abilities) are run by Kerris at Half Term and in the Easter and Summer holidays. These include fun games, competitions and prizes.

  1. Daylong 9.30 am – 4 pm
  2. Half day 9.30 am – 12.30 pm
February Half term dates:

Morning holiday camps – 9.30 am – 12.30 pm

Monday 18th & Tuesday 19th February 2 Days £24 or £15 per day
Easter dates:

Daylong holiday camps – 9.30am – 4 pm

Tuesday 9th April 1 Day £25 per Day
Thursday 11th April 1 Day £25 per Day
Tuesday 16th April 1 Day £25 per Day
Thursday 18th April 1 Day £25 per Day

Morning holiday camps – 9.30am – 12.30pm:

Monday 8th – Friday 12th April 5 days £60 or £15 per day
Monday 15th – Thursday 18th April 4 Days £48 or £15 per day
Summer 2018 dates:

Daylong holiday camps – 9.30 am – 4 pm

Tuesday 30th July 1 Day £25 per day
Wednesday 7th August 1 Day £25 per day
Thursday 15th August 1 Day £25 per day
Thursday 22nd August 1 Day £25 per day

Half day holiday camps – 9.30 am – 12.30 pm:

Monday 29th July – Friday 2nd August 5 Days £60 or £15 per day
Tuesday 6th – Friday 9th August 4 Days £48 or £15 per day
Monday 12th – Friday 16th August 5 Days £60 or £15 per day
Monday 19th – Friday 23rd August 5 Days £60 or £15 per day
Tuesday 27th – Friday 30th August 4 Days £48 or £15 per day

Junior Competitions

W/commencing Monday 10th June Junior Doubles Fortnight
W/commencing Monday 25th November Junior Singles Fortnight

For all junior courses or tournaments please sign up by poster, e-mail or telephone to Kerris: kerris.weatherley@btinternet.com. 07917 855357